Jon M. Van Dyke

  • Professor of Law
  • Carlsmith Ball Faculty Scholar
  • Regents' Medalist for Excellence in Research
  • Presidential Citation for Excellence in Teaching


  • BA cum laude Yale University 1964
  • JD cum laude Harvard Law School 1967


Professor Van Dyke joined the faculty in 1976, teaching Constitutional Law, International Law, International Ocean Law, and International Human Rights. He previously taught at the Hastings College of Law, University of California, San Francisco (1971-76), and at the Catholic University Law School, Washington, D.C (1967-69).

He was law clerk for Chief Justice Roger Traynor of the California Supreme Court (1969-70) and a Visiting Fellow at the Center for Democratic Institutions in Santa Barbara, California (1970-71). Professor Van Dyke has served as the Law School's Associate Dean (1980-82), as the University's representative on the Executive Board of the Law of the Sea Institute (1982-88), as Director of the Spark M. Matsunaga Institute for Peace (1988-90), and as an Adjunct Research Associate or Fellow at the East-West Center (1979-91, 2000-present).

He has written six books -- North Vietnam's Strategy for Survival (1972), Jury Selection Procedures: Our Uncertain Commitment to Representative Panels (1977), Sharing the Resources of the South China Sea (co-author 1997), Who Owns the Crown Lands of Hawai`i? (2008) (which was picked as one of the six most memorable books of 2008 by the Honolulu Advertiser), International Law and Litigation in the U.S. (co-author, 3rd ed. 2009), and Checklists for Searches and Seizures in Public Schools (co-author updated annually) -- and has edited another five books -- Consensus and Confrontation: The United States and the Law of the Sea Convention (1985), International Navigation: Rocks and Shoals Ahead? (1988), Freedom for the Seas in the 21st Century (1993) (which was awarded the Harold and Margaret Sprout Award for 1994 by the International Studies Association), Updating International Nuclear Law (2007), and Maritime Boundary Disputes, Settlement Processes, and the Law of the Sea (2009). He has also written numerous articles, focusing in particular on issues related international ocean law, international human rights, international environmental law, and the rights of Native Hawaiians.

In 1987, Professor Van Dyke was recipient of a University of Hawaiʻi Presidential Citation for Excellence in Teaching, and he has been selected Outstanding Professor at the Law School on four occasions.

Professor Van Dyke was a Visiting Professor at the University of California at Berkeley in Spring 2011.



  • MARITIME BOUNDARY DISPUTES, SETTLEMENT PROCESSES, AND THE LAW OF THE SEA (Seoung-Yong Hong and Jon M. Van Dyke, eds.) (Law of the Sea Institute, Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2009).
  • INTERNATIONAL LAW AND LITIGATION IN THE U.S. (West Group, 2000, 2nd ed. 2005, 3rd ed. 2009). This casebook is accompanied by a Documents Supplement and a Teacher’s Manual. (Jordan J. Paust, Jon M. Van Dyke and Linda A. Malone).
  • WHO OWNS THE CROWN LANDS OF HAWAI`I? (University of Hawaiʻi Press, 2008)

Chapters & Articles



  • Selected by graduating students to give faculty address at graduation ceremony, William S. Richardson School of Law, University of Hawaii at Mānoa (2006, 2008).
  • Member, American Society of International Law (1989-92)--member of the Society's governing Executive Council (1967-2011).
  • Consultant to the Office of Hawaiian Affairs on reparations and other resource issues (1981-2011).
  • Member of the International Editorial Board of Marine Policy, a bimonthly publication based in London (1988-2011).
  • Member of the Editorial Board of The International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law (1992-2011).
  • Member of the Board of Advisors of the Center for International Environmental Law, Washington, D.C. (1993-2011).
  • Member, International Advisory Board, Law of the Sea Institute (based at the University of California at Berkeley Law School (Boalt Hall)). Participant in many conferences. Member of Executive Board of the Institute (1982-88, 2002-2011).
  • Member of the International Board of the Turkish Journal of International Law and Politics (2004-2011).
  • Member of the Editorial Committee, Kyung Hee Law Journal, Kyung Hee University, Seoul, Korea (2008-2011).
  • Member of the Editorial Board, Journal of Korean Law (Seoul National University) (2009-2011).