February 15, 2013


  • Denise Antolini was recently appointed by House Speaker Joe Souki to serve on the Nominating Committee that will vet candidates for the State Commission on Water Resources Management. The four-member committee will review candidates to recommend people to the Governor for the two openings on the Commission, which addresses statewide water issues.
  • Bert Sakuda '79 spoke on the "Practicalities and Realities of a Modern Personal Injury Practice" to the Advance Torts & Insurance Law class taught by Hazel Beh '91.
  • On Thursday, February 21, Maxine Burkett and James Burling, director of the Pacific Legal Foundation and principal attorney at PLF's Property Rights practice group will discuss "Do Property Rights Matter When The Environment Is Going To Hell In A Handbasket?" The forum -- presented by the Environmental Law Program and the Federalist Society -- will begin at 12:15 p.m. in CR1. Light refreshments will be served. Please RSVP to elp@hawaii.edu.
  • Judge David Ezra is the recipient of a 2013 UH Founders Alumni Association Lifetime Achievement Award. Judge Ezra is currently serving on the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, San Antonio Division.


  • In an article in the February edition of The National Jurist, "Building a Better Ranking," Jack Crittenden describes a new ranking system that seeks to avoid some of the drawbacks of the U.S. News rankings. Using the new methodology, The National Jurist ranked our Law School as 50th out of 157 American law schools.
    Dean Avi Soifer commented, "We were hurt significantly by not having many graduates who are partners in the nation's largest law firms, yet we otherwise were ranked quite highly in categories most relevant to our mission."


  • The Law School's Client Counseling team of Adair Fincher '13, Dave Yarber '13, Eliza Browning '14, and Nara Sitachitta '14 finished as first runner-up in the regional competition.
    Faculty advisor Calvin Pang wrote: "This year’s regional put the teams through almost eleven hours of competition, packed into one day. Once again, volunteers in the community and on campus helped turn great potential into great performances. We are grateful to all in the Law School who supported and helped develop Adair, Dave, Eliza, and Nara. Thank you." 
  • On February 9, two teams represented the Law School very well at the annual Saul Lefkowitz Intellectual Property Moot Court Regional Competition, hosted by the International Trademark Association (INTA). Both teams put in strong performances at the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco and one team placed first overall.
    Avery Matro '13, Nikki Yamauchi '14, Shirley Lou-Magnuson '13, and Andrea Maglasang-Miller '13 won first place in all categories: Best Brief, Best Oral Argument, and Best Overall Team. The team will advance to the National Competition to be held at the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Washington D.C. on March 16. This is the first time the Law School has placed first in the competition.
    The teams thank faculty advisors Danielle Conway and Sayoko Blodgett-Ford for their expert coaching and they also thank the volunteer practitioners from the local IP community who helped, in particular Leighton Chong, Seth Reiss '80, and Martin Loui. Martin Loui's firm -- Goodsill Anderson Quinn and Stifel -- featured the teams and Danielle Conway in its newsletter.

    From left: Andrea Maglasang-Miller '13, Avery Matro '13, Nikki Yamauchi '14, Shirley Lou-Magnuson 13, Trisha Tamaru '14, Grady Owen '14, and Ben Creps 13

    From left: Andrea Maglasang-Miller 13, Avery Matro '13, Shirley Lou-Magnuson '13, and Nikki Yamauchi '14

    From left: Tim Partelow '14, Ben Creps '13, Grady Owen '14, and Trisha Tamaru '14


  • Christilei Hessler ’13, Doug Raphael ’13, and Angelica Zabanal ’14 accomplished a 4-1 record as semi-finalists in the North America Regional Round of the International Environmental Law Moot Court Competition hosted by American University in Washington D.C.
    ELP faculty advisor David Forman '93 wrote: "Doug reports that our team was knocked out in the semi-final round by a team from Trinidad that he described as 'awesome.'
    One of the other quarterfinalists in the competition -- John Marshall Law School -- was coached by Professor Kim Chanbonpin '03."



  • Masaki Igawa '05 will be promoted to full professor at the Faculty of Law, Meijo University in April. Masaki has been working at Meijo as a tax law associate professor since joining the Law School, first as a Visiting Scholar, and then after graduating from our LLM Program.
  • Alyssa Segawa '12 has joined the Galiher DeRobertis Ono law firm as an associate.
  • The Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) selected Masao Shimanuki '11 for a two-year project to help develop the legal system in Cambodia, beginning in March. JICA is an independent administrative corporation funded by the Japanese government to oversee Japan's Official Development Assistance (ODA). Masao will be part of a team that includes a Japanese judge and a Japanese prosecutor, which will work with Cambodian attorneys and the Ministry of Justice in Cambodia.
    Fellow LLM alumni Samnang Sun '07, Praseth Prum '08, and Malin Chin '09 are ready to welcome Masao to their home country, as is Ruwan Hulugalle '06 who has been working in Phnom Penh for several years.
  • Naoko Yamamoto '00, a family law specialist at Kleintop, Luria & Medeiros, was featured in the February 2013 issue of Lighthouse, a Honolulu Japanese-language community magazine. Lighthouse named Naoko as one of "Hawai'i's Hard-Working Wahine" ("ハワイでがんばるワヒネたち").